Archive for January 16th, 2013

h1

Week 1 (Jan 14 – 20, 2013) – INTRODUCTION & BRAIN BASICS

January 16, 2013

During the first week of the course, participants will

  • Join the group online meeting place
  • exchange introductions and become familiar with the group environments
  • create and/or share their digital portfolios
  • explore and understand some basic principles of brain functioning 
  • have some initial discussions on how brain research affects our teaching
  • start digitally curating brain-related resources 

Thought it would be useful for me to record this each week as we go through as a record of what we’ve done, and to check that I’m up to date.

h1

Introducing myself

January 16, 2013

Checked out all the different tools suggested and in the end decided to work with animoto and about me as I hadn’t come across them before. The other two suggestions were smore and prezi. I’ve already done one in VoiceThread but some of the photos are a bit out of date. I do like it though as you can voice over, and I’ve added/changed photos to freshen it each year. Carla (I think) used glogster and I’d like to try that too perhaps sometime.  So here’s my two sites – must use them with my students at the beginning of semester since I’ve gone to the trouble of making them.

Animoto http://animoto.com/play/x1PR7RlpZGjGl4Lod1gArQ

About Me http://about.me/karen_haines

about.me/karen_haines