h1

Learning styles

January 22, 2013

Just reminding myself about the learning styles myth. The problem with some of these myths is that they feel intuitively useful. I know for instance that I find it really hard to learn a new item of vocabulary unless I see it or at least visualise it in my head. So I always ask the person who has used the word to spell it for me, then I feel vaguely hopeful that I can memorise it. Maybe the act of doing this is what helps me to memorise it – the simple thing fo repeating it is what forms the link. I have always thought I was a strong visual learner. I love creating diagrams to help me understand concepts. I mindmap most of my notetaking. I explain things to other people in diagrams. So if I feel a strong preference for learning in a certain way then I assume that everybody else does too. Of course, they don’t. So my daughter, a hopeless speller who sees mindmapping as torture. hears things and remembers them really well. It makes intuitive sense to me therefore that we learn differently – and the 71(really?) different typologies of learning style grows around this premise, I guess.

So here is the link to the article by Rohrer dispelling the myth about learning styles from an empirical perspective and a blog posting on the same topic. “Educators should instead focus on developing the most effective and coherent ways to present particular bodies of content, which often involve combining different forms of instruction, such as diagrams and words in mutually reinforcing ways.” (Rohrer and Pashler, 2012)

 

6 comments

  1. Hi, Karen,
    I loved reading your posts and the connection of ideas you make! Way to go!
    I’d like to comment specifically about what wrote in relation to you being a strong visual learner. You give 3 examples: “I love CREATING DIAGRAMS to help me understand concepts. I MINDMAP most of my notetaking. I EXPLAIN things to other people in diagrams.” When you do things like creating diagrams and mindmaps, and explaining stuff to others, more complex cognitive processes are happening in your brain. You are engaging different areas. For you to create and explain you need to develop understanding about the content. What you are actually doing is involving your brain in higher order thinking. This is what helps you to learn, much more than the type of sensory input that reached your brain. I hope this makes sense to you.


    • Hi Denise, thanks for pointing that out. You are right – I can totally see that those activities are basically engaging in higher order thinking – just in visual ways. I also know that I find explaining things to people is one way that I remember them (like this evening at dinner when I was telling my long-suffering family what I’d learned today about the brain) or that having to create a summary also helps to understand something rather than just copying and pasting the key bits. The first is part of speaking and the second is verbal – neither particularly visual. So, the important thing is the processing/higher order thinking that I do, which could be expressed in multiple ways. Maybe the general acceptance of learning style theory is what makes me notice the visual ways I process.


  2. Karen, my NLD (nonverbal learning disability) daughter is like yours: she is an auditory learner who finds visualization of anything difficult to impossible (if I believe her own statements as to this).
    I like to learn by listening, but I also like to read and to watch. I guess I need all these modalities to do my best learning. Remembering is what is becoming harder and harder for me as I age (presently 63). If I did not blog about all the books I read, I would forget not only what is in them but also the very fact that I have read them! Ouch.


    • Hey Nina, I’ve just started blogging about the books I’ve read so that I remember what they are about too! And I’m only 52!


      • What’s your reading blog URL? Mine is nliakos.wordpress.com. When you have a chance, please visit! 🙂


      • Hi Nina
        My reading blog is http://whatareyoureadingmylord.wordpress.com/ Please note, you’ve been going longer than mine, and so far, I’ve only put the fiction that I’ve read up. I had problems with posting and twice had to rewrite something which might explain the quite short entries! I do love reading though and nice to find someone who shares a similar interest. I enjoyed reading through your entries and thinking about other possibilities to read. Thanks : )



Leave a comment